The Big Blue Book, Part 2

51gwuejifpl-_sx389_bo1204203200_

On to the second part of my response to Buckland’s Complete Book of Witchcraft! Here are some of the things I liked:

Meditation: His description of meditation was interesting to read partly because I’ve never seen such technical how-to-meditate instructions. The instructions also run counter to some of what I’ve learned from yoga, where you want to avoid distractions (like a window) while you meditate.

Sabbats: The rituals for each sabbat were beautiful. I loved them, gender binaries and all. Way more poetic than that “poem” about the Wiccan Rede (the one that’s mostly really dreadful couplets). All the “hail and farewell” and “love is the law and love is the bond” bits just sang.

And well, then I had to take the book back to the library. I read through most of it but a lot of it didn’t really click with me. I think some of that is just that the writing style and approach to Wicca wasn’t quite what’s going to work for me. I’m currently in the middle of The Spiral Dance and I swear, just reading some of those chapters is a spiritual experience. Starhawk’s version of witchcraft seems to be more compatible with who I am as a person, so while I may come back to this book at some point, for now I’m going to leave it at the library and read what some of the other people from the community have to say.

Leave a Reply

